Agent Theories, Architectures, and Languages (ATAL-2001)

The Eighth International Workshop

1-3 August 2001, Paramount Hotel, Seattle, WA



The ATAL workshop series aims to bring together researchers interested in the agent-level, micro aspects of agent technology. Specifically, ATAL-2000 will address issues such as theories of rational agency, software architectures for intelligent agents, methodologies and programming languages for realising agents, and software tools for applying and evaluating agent systems. Papers that consider macro-level, societal issues of agent-based systems are welcome if they explicitly relate to the workshop themes.

ATAL-2001 will be held immediately before the IJCAI-2001 conference. The ATAL-2001 proceedings will be formally published as volume eight of the "Intelligent Agents" series from Springer-Verlag.


As the title suggests, the workshop has three main themes:

Papers that cross theme boundaries are of particular interest. An example would be a paper that demonstrated how a particular agent architecture embodied some theory of agency, or what benefits a particular agent language can bring in a specific application domain.

Apart from these general themes we encourage papers on two SPECIAL TRACKS, one on "FORMAL THEORIES (logical, game- or decision-theoretical or otherwise) OF NEGOTIATION BETWEEN AGENTS" and one on "AGENTS FOR HAND-HELD, MOBILE OR EMBEDDED DEVICES".


Those wishing to participate in the workshop should submit an original research paper of up to 5000 words (approximately 13 pages maximum) to one of the co-chairs (John-Jules Meyer or Milind Tambe, at the addresses listed below). If you wish your paper to be considered for one of the special tracks then mark this clearly on the front page. Electronic submission in PostScript or pdf formats is strongly encouraged, but four single-sided hard copies will also suffice; if you send hardcopy, please ensure you use a reliable delivery service to ensure your paper turns up before the deadline passes. The first page of your submission should include the full name and contact details (including email, full postal address, and telephone number) of at least one author. Formatting instructions are available from the workshop WWW site (see above). The preproceedings will be distributed at the workshop; the formal proceedings will be published shortly afterwards.


   Workshop                      1-3 August 2001


   John-Jules Meyer  (Co-chair)
   Utrecht University
   Institute of Information and Computing Sciences
   Centrumgebouw Noord, office A123
   P.O. Box 80089
   3508 TB Utrecht, The Netherlands
   Milind Tambe  (Co-chair)
   USC Information Sciences Institute
   4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 1001
   Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6695, USA
   David Pynadath (Associate chair)
   USC Information Sciences Institute
   4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 1001
   Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6695, USA


   "Formal Theories of Negotiation"

   Frank Dignum
   Utrecht University, The Netherlands
email: "Agents for Hand-Held, Mobile, or Embedded Devices" Tim Finin University of Maryland Baltimore County email:


  Chitta Baral                    Arizona State U, USA.
  Suzanne Barber                  U of Texas at Austin, USA.
  Michael Beetz                   U of Bonn, Germany.
  Cristiano Castelfranchi         CNR, Rome, Italy.
  Lawrence Cavedon                RMIT, Australia.
  Phil Cohen                      Oregon Graduate Inst, USA.
  Rosaria Conte                   IP-CNR, Italy.
  Giuseppe De Giacomo             U of Rome, Italy.
  Keith Decker                    University of Delaware, USA.
  Frank Dignum                    Utrecht U, Netherlands.
  Mark d'Inverno                  U of Westminster, UK.
  Alexis Drogoul                  U of Paris VI, France.
  Ed Durfee                       U of Michigan, USA
  Jacques Ferber                  U of Montpellier II, France.
  Tim Finin                       U of Maryland Baltimore County
  Klaus Fischer                   DFKI, Germany.
  Michael Fisher                  U of Liverpool, UK.
  Stan Franklin                   U of Memphis, USA.
  Fausto Giunchiglia              U of Trento, Italy.
  Piotr Gmytrasiewicz             U of Texas at Arlington, USA.
  Barbara Grosz                   Harvard U, USA.
  Henry Hexmoor                   U of North Dakota, USA.
  Wiebe van der Hoek              Utrecht U, Netherlands.
  Marc Huber                      Intelligent Reasoning Systems, USA.
  Nick Jennings                   U of Southampton, UK.
  Anupam Joshi                    U of Maryland, USA.
  Hirofumi Katsuno                Tokyo Denki U, Japan.
  David Kinny                     U of Melbourne, Australia.
  Sarit Kraus                     Bar-Ilan U, Israel.
  Ora Lassila                     Nokia Research Center, Boston, USA
  Yves Lesperance                 York U, Toronto, Canada.
  Alessio Lomuscio                Imperial College, London, UK
  Michael Luck                    U of Southampton, UK.
  John-Jules Meyer                Utrecht U, Netherlands (co-chair).
  Joerg Mueller                   Siemens, Germany.
  Hideyuki Nakashima              AIST, Japan.
  Simon Parsons                   U of Liverpool, UK.
  David Pynadath                  USC-ISI, USA.
  Anand Rao                       Mitchell Madison Group, UK.
  Luciano Serafini                U of Trento, Italy.
  Onn Shehory                     IBM Haifa Res. Labs, Israel.
  Carles Sierra                   CSIC, Spain.
  Munindar Singh                  North Carolina State U, USA.
  Liz Sonenberg                   U of Melbourne, Australia.
  Peter Stone                     ATT Labs, USA
  Katia Sycara                    Carnegie Mellon U, USA.
  Milind Tambe                    USC-ISI, USA (co-chair).
  Jan Treur                       Free Univ. Amsterdam, Netherlands.
  Tom Wagner                      University of Maine, USA
  Wayne Wobcke                    University of Melbourne, Australia.
  Mike Wooldridge                 U of Liverpool, UK.
  Peter Wurman                    North Carolina State U, USA.
  Makoto Yokoo                    NTT Labs, Japan
  Eric Yu                         U of Toronto, Canada.